Books 2013

According to Goodreads, I read 16 books in 2013. The reality is that I attempted to read 12 new books last year, 6 of which i finished. The other six were book club selections, 2 of which I hated & couldn’t make myself read any more, 3 were books I was enjoying reading but I just ran out of time before book club, and one in which I got so mad at the main character that I stopped reading the book & couldn’t finish. The remaining four of the 16 were re-reads of the first 4 Harry Potter books.

So, what did I actually finish (and enjoy) reading in 2013?

LetsPretend Let’s Pretend This Never Happened – Jenny Lawson. I actually started this one in 2012, but I’m a slow reader (and an easily distracted reader) these days. I finally finished this year and it’s so funny. If you aren’t familiar with Jenny, she blogs over at TheBloggess.com & is irreverent and hilarious.

brothersgrimm Fairy Tales from the Brother’s Grimm – Philip Pullman. This one was a book club selection. New translations of the original Grimm’s Fairy Tales. It was really interesting to read the stories as they were originally written (or close enough given they were newly translated). It was not great to be a woman in fairy tales, though – the daughters always got in trouble for their dad’s lies. What was that about?

OceanLaneThe Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman. I loved this one so much. My goodreads review was simple and accurate: I just finished this book and I was crying and I don’t know why I was crying. It was lovely and a tiny bit scary and perfect. 

I’m not really setting a reading goal for 2014. I have 3 PhD exams this year (2 in February, 1 in October) along with finishing my coursework. I’m sure I’ll be busy with studying for them, though I’ll still try to read the book club selections for the year.

