In the Kitchen: Coconut Pecan Frosting

coconut pecan frosting

Christmas falling on a Wednesday this year has put a kink into my weekly plans. That means there are TWO weeks in a row that we won’t have our normal knit night because the shop is closed for the holiday. TWO WEEKS.

So, because of that, I made Monica’s birthday cupcakes a full week before what would typically be her pre-birthday knit night. I decided to go with German Chocolate because they are delicious.

I’ve always used the can o’frosting when I’ve made German Chocolate cupcakes in the past, but this time found myself short a can. Since I didn’t have time to run back out to the store, I decided to see if I could make it with stuff I already had at home. The answer to that is YES.

My not-so-secret recipe for the cupcakes is here. And if you make the frosting recipe before the cupcakes, there is enough of it to frost 24 cupcakes and to use as the secret ingredient in your cake.

Frosting cupcakes.
As for the frosting? The recipe came from Country Living & can be found here. It was not hard to make – I set a timer for 10 minutes to stir & cook everything together. Just make sure you have a big enough pot (I tried to use a smaller sauce pan & it bubbled up too much – I had to switch to a bigger pot halfway through).

This frosting was really delicious – more so than my fall back canned frosting. I wish I’d had smaller pecan bits, but they still worked out just fine – I just couldn’t pipe the frosting on like I usually do. I used my small cookie scoop to measure out a dollop of frosting, then spread it with a spatula. I would definitely make this again.

One thought on “In the Kitchen: Coconut Pecan Frosting

Comments are closed.