In the Kitchen: Swiss Buttercream Frosting

I mentioned in the previous post that I made Swiss Buttercream for the first time for the Chocolate Chai Spice Cupcakes.

Swiss Buttercream

I had wondered for a while why some buttercreams were smooth and glossy and gorgeous, while also being delicious, but not overly sweet. Like the one found on the Snack Cake cupcake from Sarah’s Cake Stop. Well, one night we were munching on friend (and pastry chef) Lauren’s cupcakes, which also had the delicious frosting & Lauren said it was a Swiss Buttercream. I knew then that I needed to try to make this frosting.

Fast forward 6 months and I decided to try it out for our 12 days of Christmas at work.

I will warn you – this post will reveal the amount of butter I used to frost 24 cupcakes. Turn back if you don’t want to know.

Swiss Buttercream

I started out with the Swiss Buttecream frosting recipe from Smitten Kitchen, modifying it ever so slightly because I don’t know how much frosting for a cake translates to cupcakes, but didn’t want leftover. So, to generously frost 24 cupcakes, I did a batch & a half of the 9 inch cake recipe & it was the perfect amount. (Since my cupcake recipe makes like 2 1/2 dozen, I ran out. But that’s not likely to happen if you do have 24-25 cupcakes).

I’ll detail my ingredient list here since I already did the math & it worked out perfectly, but check the linked post for the rest of the directions:
1 1/2 cup sugar
6 large egg whites
5 sticks butter, softened (1 1/4 pounds)
1.5 teaspoon vanilla extract

Additionally, I threw in a couple teaspoons of the Chai Spice mix to mine. Get crazy, folks.

Now, you will notice that this recipe requires a lot of beating with an electric mixer. This can be done without a stand mixer (as I still don’t have one yet – SOMEDAY THE KITCHENAID WILL BE MINE), but I do not recommend it. I have a handheld electric mixer & it took a while for this to come together. My arms were SORE by the end. But there is a magical moment where it goes from “OMG this will NEVER be frosting” to “FROSTING!”. It was pretty cool to see.

