Day 25/30: Quiet

For one of my class sessions last semester, I was assigned the task of watching a few TED talks & trying to determine what it was that made these people great speakers. It was an interesting thing to do & I got sucked into the talks for about 90 minutes on a Sunday evening.

One of the talks that hooked me was by Susan Cain, whose talk was The Power of Introverts.


(it’s about 20 minutes long, but well worth watching.)

After I watched this talk, I ordered up a copy of her book: Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking. When it arrived, I added it to my bag to read at lunchtime. These are just a few of the things that resonate with me from her book.

Introverts, in contrast, may have strong social skills and enjoy parties and business meetings, but after a while they wish they were home in their pajamas. They prefer to devote their social energies to close friends, colleagues, and family. They listen more than they talk, think before they speak, and often feel as if they express themselves better in writing than in conversation. They tend to dislike conflict. Many have a horror of small talk, but enjoy deep discussions. (p11)

This fits me so well. I often can’t wait to be home in my pjs. I like being with friends, but large groups of people I don’t know make me uncomfortable. I hate conflict (and would rather hide under my desk than face conflict). I am not good at small talk. 

I’ve not had nearly enough time to read since I got the book (in MARCH, which is also when I started writing this post) & I so wish I could get back to reading – just the bit I’ve had time to read so far has made me feel a little less awkward about being the introvert in the room.

