Day 8/30 – In The Kitchen: A Brunch Casserole

In an attempt to get all my recipes and cooking talk in one place, I’ll be periodically re-posting recipes from my time writing on the Kitchen Mirror here. In some cases I may update pictures & proof-read, but for the most part it will just be a re-posting of what I had there. The posts are not in chronological order.

This is the last one hanging around in my drafts folder. It may not be the New Year yet, but a casserole is still good anytime.

Originally posted January 3, 2009.

To celebrate New Years Day, some friends & I gathered together for a New Years Brunch. I had the idea to do this because there were a couple of things I wanted to try out and I knew that it was ridiculous to make that amount of food for myself.

New Years Brunch
The brunch menu as a whole – so good. YUM.

One of the things I made was an Egg & Sausage Casserole. It was an experiment in recipe modification, as I couldn’t find exactly what I wanted to make – I wanted something without bread, but 90% of the recipes called for bread. Instead, I started with this recipe and modified it quite a bit.

Egg & Sausage Casserole

Here’s what I did to make it:

Ingredients:
1 lb. turkey sausage, cooked, drained, crumbled
2 cups shredded cheese (I used a combination of the Kraft Mexican Blend & regular cheddar cheese)
10 eggs, slightly beaten
4 cups milk (I used skim & 1% because that’s what I had)
>2 tsp mustard
1 tsp salt
dash of pepper
1 cup fresh sliced mushrooms
1 cup pico de gallo (fresh)

Sprinkle 9×13 pan with cheese. Combine eggs, milk, mustard, salt, & pepper. Pour into pan over cheese. Add mushrooms & pico de gallo. Sprinkle turkey sausage over top. Cover and chill overnight. In the morning, preheat the oven to 325F. Bake about 1 hour uncovered (I think mine took about an hour & 15 minutes). Makes 10 servings.

Notes: Since I didn’t use the bread, I probably should have cut down on the amount of milk I used. Next time I think I’d use half as much milk – there was a bit of spare liquid hanging around in my pan. But it was still yummy. I hear that it was delicious with a bit of sausage gravy on top, too.

I did make one other dish for the brunch – Tricia’s Creme Brulee French Toast – and it turned out fantastic.

