In the Kitchen: Rotini with Chicken Sausage

In an attempt to get all my recipes and cooking talk in one place, I’ll be periodically re-posting recipes from my time writing on the Kitchen Mirror here. In some cases I may update pictures & proof-read, but for the most part it will just be a re-posting of what I had there. The posts are not in chronological order – I’m trying to post holiday appropriate recipes near the holidays they go with & fill in others around them.

Originally posted July 27, 2009.

Lately I’ve been trying to do two things: 1. Make out a menu for the week ahead of time so I know what I need to cook my various healthy meals. 2. Use up the stuff in my freezer so I can restock it with more yummy goodness from Trader Joe’s.

This often leads to testing out some new recipes. One of the things hanging out in my freezer was some Roasted Garlic Chicken Sausage from Trader Joe’s (I love Trader Joe’s so much). So I did a little searching and found this recipe and (once again) modified it to suit my own tastes as follows:

YIP 76.365 Rotini with Chicken Sausage

2 cans Red Gold Diced Tomatoes with garlic & olive oil
3 cups dry wheat rotini
4 links Trader Joe’s Roasted Garlic Chicken Sausage
2 cups fresh spinach
2 cups baby portabella mushrooms, sliced (I just dumped in the whole small container)

Cook rotini according to package directions. While water is heating for the rotini, start to make your sauce. Slice sausage into pieces, toss in sauce pan and heat through (TJ’s are already cooked, so they don’t take long). Add mushrooms & saute until tender. Pour tomatoes over sausage and mushrooms. Add spinach and turn burner to low. Simmer for 10-15 minutes (until rotini is done cooking). Drain the pasta & toss with the sauce. Sprinkle with parmesan if desired & serve up with a nice crusty bread. Mmm, bread.

You can add more garlic when you add the tomatoes if you want, but since it was in my tomatoes & sausage, I didn’t figure it was necessary.

This made a good 6 servings – I had mine for dinner & then shared a few at lunch the next day with coworkers. I also took the remaining leftovers to my friend to feed her and her husband for lunch. Since it got such good reviews from everyone, it’s definitely going on my repeat list.

11/1/13 edit: I was actually just thinking about this recipe the other day – it was delicious, yet I haven’t made it in far too long. I’ll have to do that again sometime soon. I also still fight to use up the food in my freezer. No matter what, I never have extra freezer space. 

