In the Kitchen: Blueberry Buckle

A few weeks ago I was knee deep in homework and trying to slog my way through another reading on something I don’t even remember at this point. My brain put up a mighty fight and reminded me that hey, didn’t you see this recipe for Blueberry Buckle on Pinterest just a couple days ago? And don’t you have a pint of blueberries in your refrigerator that need using? And wouldn’t it be great just to have a little bit of cake?

Yes, brain. FINE.

So like any rational person, I went to the kitchen and threw together a blueberry buckle because my brain thought it would be a nice break from all the homework I should have been doing.

Blueberry Buckle

Now here’s where I tell you how my brain is an asshole. It failed to remind me that I have a printer now and didn’t need to use my iPad to read the recipe. Then it got a little cocky when I was putting together the topping & and decided it could remember the proper salt measurement without me getting buttery fingers all over the screen to wake it up. My brain was wrong. I inadvertently doubled the salt in the topping & instead of thinking that I should just double the rest of the topping ingredients to even it out, I went with it. It wasn’t a complete disaster.

Blueberry Buckle

If you’re eating this pretty much fresh out of the oven, the extra dose of salt (especially when you use sea salt) doesn’t ruin the recipe. There are still delicious blueberries, cake, and sugar. But after it mellowed for a day I could definitely tell.

Take my advice. Don’t mess up the salt measurement in a blueberry buckle, okay? But if you do, make sure you have friends to share with while it’s still warm so nobody notices.

Blueberry Buckle
Originally from My Baking Addiction

Ingredients
2 c. all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp Penzey’s Cake Spice
3/4 c. sugar
1/4 c. unsalted butter, softened
1 large egg
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 c. milk
2 c. blueberries (you could probably do this with frozen, but make sure there aren’t any little ice crystals hanging around on them)

Topping:
1/3 c. all purpose flour
1/3 c. dark brown sugar (packed)
1/2 tsp Penzey’s Cake Spice
1/4 tsp salt
3 tbsp unsalted butter, cold & cut into cubes

Preheat the oven to 375F. Spray an 8×8 pan with cooking spray.

In medium bowl, whisk together your dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt, cake spice).

In a large bowl, beat together butter & sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla and mix until combined. Slowly add in flour mixture and milk, alternating them (a little flour mixture, then a little milk) until combined. Gently stir in blueberries & then add mixture to prepared pan.

For the topping – mix all ingredients together until the butter is well mixed in & there are small clumps. You’ll probably need to get your hands in there to get this the right consistency. Sprinkle over the top of the cake mixture.

Bake for about 30 minutes. (Note: I believe mine needed to bake longer, but it’s been long enough now that I don’t remember how long).

Enjoy. :)

