In the Kitchen: Lemon Blueberry Muffins

I was at the grocery store a couple weeks ago when I discovered that blueberries were on sale for 88 cents a pint. Not being able to resist such a deal (because, SERIOUSLY, blueberries for less than a DOLLAR a pint!?), I picked up 2 pints. I used most of the first one in blueberry muffins I made as part of my experiment in freezer cooking*, but I found that I still had a full pint plus some left. Luckily, that very same week someone pinned this recipe for lemon blueberry muffins.

Lemon Blueberry Muffins

When I went to make these, I thought I had a lemon-rind appropriate grater, but I was wrong. So my version did not have nearly as much lemon zest as called for (I think I “zested” about a third of it before I gave up). The lemon butter really soaked into the muffins, though, so it was hardly missed. The only other change I made was to use turbinado sugar on the tops of the muffins. I think the finer white sugar probably would have been a better choice, but I’m really trying to use the last of this bag of turbinado I have in the house.

I thought that these muffins were delicious – I love lemon in baked goods & pairing it with blueberries is always good. The lemon butter was a little messy, so in the future I might try to just add an extra hit of lemon to the batter & then sprinkle sugar on the tops before baking, but I don’t know. If you like lemon flavor in baked goods, definitely give these a chance.

*Which I have not mentioned until right now. Rachel got me started on it & I like having meals in the freezer I can grab and go. I did a bbq chicken in the crockpot & now I can just grab a sandwich’s worth out of the freezer to take to work for lunch. Love that! I need to make more stuff, though. Also, the banana blueberry muffins are awesome. As is this coconut porridge (I’ll have to tell you about it sometime. I make it slightly different than the linked version).

