In the Kitchen: Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cake

Continuing the “MUST BAKE ALL THE THINGS” attitude I’ve had lately, Shannon posted her version of this cake and I immediately went to look at the recipe & made sure to buy the some oats and cream cheese when I was shopping. I usually have oats on hand, but was nearly out of them, so I stocked up.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cake

I went ahead and made the cream cheese frosting, though I’m now imagining this with a nice brown sugar frosting of some kind, or maybe even just a vanilla bean glaze that you can drizzle over the top.

Oatmeal cake

I took this one to book club & it was delicious (although I must admit that the lemon cake Rhonda brought us was the star of the night). I would definitely make this again. It’s not the prettiest cake, but it is good.

The original recipe is here. I didn’t have any bourbon on hand & wasn’t about to buy some just for the chocolate chips, so I just dusted them with the flour (skipping the bourbon step) & it seemed to work fine.

A final note on the frosting, too – I felt like there wasn’t quite enough to really frost my cake. I didn’t need a whole double batch, but maybe just to tweak it & use a whole brick (8oz) of cream cheese instead of just 6oz (adding extra butter & powdered sugar as needed).

2 thoughts on “In the Kitchen: Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cake

  1. I agree about the frosting. I used a 9×9 and I had barely enough, I don’t think she used what was called for in her photos, it looks way too covered.

    • She had to have doubled the frosting recipe or something. I’m still thinking that a nice vanilla or brown sugar glaze would be the perfect topping for this cake.

Comments are closed.