In the Kitchen: Butterscotch Pudding Chocolate Chip Cookies

There are only 2 short weeks left before the fall semester starts & my free time becomes a rare commodity. I don’t know where the time has gone since getting back from vacation – it seems I race through each week and before I know it, the weekend is gone and it starts all over again.

Butterscotch Pudding Chocolate Chip Cookies

I was going to get so much done this summer – finish up several lingering knitting projects, do some cross stitch, work on a puzzle, and bake all the things. I think time goes faster when you have things to do. While I’ve been knitting, I’ve not finished as many things as I thought I would. But there has been plenty of baking. I won’t tell you about the failed Monster Bars*, but you do get to hear about the other new recipes I’ve tried this summer.

Butterscotch Pudding Chocolate Chip Cookies

Like these cookies. I generally love eating cookies, but find baking them tedious – there’s a constant up and down, only 10 minutes between baking where you have to manage to get the freshly baked cookies off your cookie sheet & cooling, then get the next dozen ready for the oven. I prefer cupcakes because there’s more downtime once you get things in the oven. But every once in a while a cookie craving overtakes me and I must have fresh from the oven cookies. This recipe and a craving came together at just the right time.

Butterscotch Pudding Chocolate Chip Cookies

You might be thinking “Pudding mix in cookies? How does that work?” It works amazingly well – if you are the type of person who wants your home baked cookies to stay soft and chewy, you need to try this. (I only dip my store bought cookies in milk.) If you prefer a crispy cookie, these probably are not for you. These also have little toffee bits that add a nice little crunch.

Butterscotch Pudding Chocolate Chip Cookies

Butterscotch Pudding Cookies with Chocolate Chips & Toffee
original recipe from Baking Serendipity

Ingredients:
2 sticks (1c) butter, softened
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 (3.4 oz) box butterscotch pudding mix (I used cook & serve, but instant is probably fine)
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup Heath toffee pieces

Preheat oven to 350F. Cream together the butter and sugars. Add in the eggs, pudding mix, and vanilla & mix well. Stir in the flour, salt, and baking soda. Once blended, add in the chocolate chips and toffee pieces. Using a small cookie scoop (if you have one) or rounded tablespoon, drop onto cookie sheet** and bake for 10 minutes. Let cool on the pan for 2 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool. Try not to burn your mouth eating them fresh off the pan.

*It’s really a shame they failed because I had some great photos for that non-post. I should not have doubled the recipe, though. My mistake. Won’t do it again on a first time recipe.

**I have the airbake pans, so I don’t grease them or use parchment paper. However, if you’re using a regular cookie sheet, it’s recommended that you line the sheet with parchment paper.

One thought on “In the Kitchen: Butterscotch Pudding Chocolate Chip Cookies

Comments are closed.