In the Kitchen: Blueberry Sour Cream Cake

For my birthday cupcakes this year, Rachel made me the same delicious chocolate cupcakes that she made last year, ostensibly from the recipe that comes on the box of Hershey’s cocoa. After last years deliciousness, I tried to replicate them and they just were not the same, which I mentioned while shoving mouthfuls of chocolate goodness into my mouth this year. Rachel offered to send me the recipe with the family notes & I took her up on that.

Along with the chocolate cake/cupcakes recipe, there is one for Blueberry Sour Cream Cake, which I was convinced to make while in a baking mood and bring to knit night as the first of a two-part farewell to knitter Margaret (who is leaving us to move to Alaska).

Untitled

The blueberries are gorgeous right now and also delicious. The recipe calls for 1 quart (which is 2 pints if you’re buying somewhere that sells them in pints, like my local grocery store), though I found that with my version of the recipe I couldn’t fit them all into the cake. If you find yourself with an actual springform pan or even a larger cake pan than I had, you may be able to use them all. If not, they’ll be a tasty snack when the cake is all gone.

Untitled

This cake is kind of a three part recipe – there’s a shortbread like crust on the bottom (layer 1), all the blueberries (layer 2), and then the custard (layer 3). The whole thing goes in the oven at once, though – no prebaking the “crust” – so it’s really simple to make. This is not a super sweet cake, but it’s a delicious one, especially if you like blueberries.

Untitled

I made the recipe as written, but I hear that it doubles well. I should have doubled it, as it went fast at knit night, but as written it’s the perfect size for a small dinner party or family dinner.

Untitled

Blueberry Sour Cream Cake

“Crust” layer:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla

Blueberries: 1 quart (2 pints) fresh or frozen. (Just make sure there’s no extra ice on your frozen ones if you use them. Or just save this recipe for when it’s blueberry season.)

Custard layer:
2 cups (16oz) sour cream
2 egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla

Make sure your oven rack is in the center of the oven & pre-heat to 350. Butter a 9 or 10 inch springform pan, be generous with the butter, folks, you do not want this to stick to the pan (note that I used a glass pyrex square pan, so this can be made if you don’t have springform. JUST DON’T SKIMP ON THE BUTTER.)

Mix together your crust ingredients until they’ll stick together – this mixture looks crumbly, but it does come together. Once you’ve got everything together, put into prepared pan. I patted mine down to be kind of a flat layer, but the original recipe didn’t say that.

Sprinkle the “crust” layer evenly with as many blueberries as you can fit in the pan without having the custard overflow.

Combine the custard ingredients & blend well. Don’t overmix – just enough to blend everything together. Pour over berries (I smoothed the top with a spatula). Bake for one hour or until the edges of the custard are lightly browned.

Let cool completely, then refrigerate overnight (or for a few hours, at least) before removing from springform pan. I served mine in the baking pan & it came out fine.

Enjoy!

This recipe originally came out of a magazine in the 70s, but the name and other info have been lost to time.

