In the Kitchen: Oatmeal Buttermilk Muffins

After the failure that was “cake stuck in the pan” last week, I found myself with enough buttermilk leftover to make these great muffins. I’ve made them many times over now & mentioned them before, but I’ve never shared the recipe here*.

IMG_2006

The recipe for these simple but tasty muffins came to me from Jess, who adapted it from King Arthur Flour. Her brilliant suggestion to add a dash of nutmeg has changed these for the better, so much so that I experimented with Penzey’s Cake Spice this time. The current batch contained chocolate chips & pecans, but you can do anything with these muffins.

I should note that these are a sticky muffin. When I say “sticky”, I mean that if you use paper liners in your muffin pan, the muffins will be hard to get out of them. I would use foil liners or just lightly grease the pan (I MUST remember this, too – I always forget and then wind up with stuck muffins).

Oatmeal Buttermilk Muffins
adapted from Jess, who adapted from King Arthur Flour

* 1 cup (3 1/2 ounces) quick-cooking or rolled oats
* 2 cups (16 oz) buttermilk
* 1/2 cup (4 oz) brown sugar
* 4 tablespoons (2 oz) butter, melted
* 1 large egg
* 1 teaspoon baking powder
* 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
* 1/4 teaspoon salt
* 1/8-1/4 tsp Penzey’s Cake Spice (or nutmeg)
* 1 1/2 cups (6 1/4 oz) unbleached all-purpose flour
* Optional add-ins (total 1 cup add ins – see below for ideas)

In a small bowl, combine the oats and buttermilk. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Preheat the oven to 425 F. In a large bowl, combine the buttermilk and the oat mixture, brown sugar, butter, egg, baking powder, baking soda, cake spice, and salt. Gently stir in the flour and your add-ins. Scoop into 12 greased or lined muffin cups and bake for 20 minutes, until the tops are light golden brown and a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven, let cool for 5 minutes on a rack, then turn out of the pans to finish cooling.

IMG_2005

Ideas for your add-ins:
Blueberries
Dried berry mix
Dried cranberries
Raisins
Apple bits
Pecans
Walnuts
Banana
Chocolate chips
Dried apricots (chopped)
Strawberries (chopped)
Whatever strikes your fancy

*As I sometimes find myself looking for said recipe by searching my blog, I figured it would be good to post this time.

One thought on “In the Kitchen: Oatmeal Buttermilk Muffins

Comments are closed.