Knitting FOs: Socks!

In the past couple weeks I have managed to finish up two very long term projects – Hermione’s Everyday Socks & Mandy’s Grim Adventure socks.

Hermione's Everyday Socks

First up, Hermione’s socks – these are knit out of Dyeabolical Strong Arm Skinny in Blood Orange. The pattern is simple enough that I could work on these socks anywhere, but also had a little texture to make it a bit interesting. I started working on these last July and finally finished them a couple weeks ago.

I go through phases with sock knitting – I must always have some on the needles, but am never in a hurry to finish them. When I get my knitting ADD, socks are the first thing to go into the bottomless pit of WIPs, only to come out again when I need a portable project that can be stopped in the middle of a row when needed. They’re really the perfect travel/waiting room project.

Which brings us to the next pair – this is the project I had with me a couple Saturdays ago as I sat in a waiting room while my car was being serviced for several hours. The guy who kept checking to make sure I was fine waiting joked that I’d have them finished by the time I left that day – I didn’t, but I did finish them on that Sunday.

Billy & Mandy Socks

This is yarn dyed for me as a birthday present from Mindy a few years ago based on the Grim Adventures of Billy & Mandy — these are Mandy’s colors.

To tell you how long these have been on the needles – I started knitting them so I’d have movie theater knitting for the final installment of the Harry Potter movies. Yep, that was nearly 2 years ago – July 2011. But they are done now!

For both pair, I used the Slip Stitch Heel Basic Sock pattern from Wendy Johnson’s Socks from the Toe Up. On the Hermione socks, I just inserted the pattern stitch & changed the heel to eye of partridge style when I was slipping those stitches – this is my preferred heel stitch, but I couldn’t see the stitches on the Billy & Mandy socks well enough in the black yarn to do it that way, so I went with the slip stitch heel in the pattern.

I got two pair of socks off the needles, so naturally I started three more pair in the past 2 weeks. They’ll be great vacation knitting this summer.

