In the Kitchen: Yellow Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

It’s time to admit something. I’ve come to like the recipes with a doctored cake mix quite a lot. I still enjoy baking something totally from scratch, but there are just those times when you want to throw everything in one bowl and get to it without having to sift your dry ingredients together first. This is convenience baking that still tastes delicious.

Relay Cupcakes 2013

The first time I made these cupcakes was to help out a coworker who was throwing a baby shower. The mother-to-be had specifically requested yellow cupcakes with chocolate frosting. We were baking after work one day, so I wanted something quick and easy. Unfortunately, the hunt for a quick doctored box recipe was anything but quick and easy. I did eventually find something, but apparently I didn’t have faith that the recipe would be something I wanted to make again – I can’t find the original source ANYWHERE. I didn’t pin it or bookmark it or anything. It’s just sitting there in my email to my coworker taunting me with no clue where it came from. Did it come from The Cake Mix Doctor herself? Maybe I just went with the doctored chocolate cupcake recipe I found at My Baking Addiction and went with yellow instead of chocolate cake mix? I just don’t know and it’s driving me a bit bonkers that I can’t attribute it to the proper person.

Photos from the original baking session leave something to be desired (stemming from the use of my phone instead of my “real” camera). But there were fun liners & sprinkles involved:
yellow cupcakes

I decided to make these again for the Relay For Life cupcake extravaganza in April. They’re a moist cake and the chocolate frosting is a great addition to them (especially given my Vanilla Cake Syndrome). I also used a canned frosting for these. It worked well with the recipe & made my life without a stand mixer easier. And since I (sadly) can’t link you to the original source:

Yellow Cupcakes with Chocolate Frosting

Ingredients:
1 (15.25 oz) box yellow cake mix (I like Better Crocker Butter Recipe)
1 (3.4 oz) package instant vanilla pudding mix
3/4 cup sour cream
3/4 cup butter, melted & cooled slightly
1/2 cup warm water
4 eggs, lightly beaten
2 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 cans Betty Crocker Rich & Creamy Milk Chocolate frosting
Sprinkles (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350º. Line muffin tin(s) with liners.
Beat together cake & pudding mixes, sour cream, butter, water, eggs, & vanilla. Beat for about 2 minutes on medium until well combined. (NOTE: I like to give the cake mix & pudding a stir together before I add the wet ingredients in.)
Fill muffin tins about 2/3 full (~3tbsp batter per well)
Bake for 18-22 minutes or until tops of cakes are slightly golden brown & a toothpick inserted in the cake comes out clean (or mostly clean).
Cool in tins for about 10 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool.

