In the Kitchen: Banana Nutella Bread

In an attempt to get all my recipes and cooking talk in one place, I’ll be periodically re-posting recipes from my time writing on the Kitchen Mirror here. In some cases I may update pictures & proof-read, but for the most part it will just be a re-posting of what I had there. The posts are not in chronological order – I’m trying to post holiday appropriate recipes near the holidays they go with & fill in others around them.

Originally posted March 1, 2010.

I am easily suggestible. I’m an advertisers wet dream, really. If you suggest something, I will want to run out and buy it, bake it, or eat it right away. It’s a sickness. People twitter new recipes and they almost immediately go into my bookmarks. Someone suggested a dinner idea recently & I went looking for a recipe for it (especially since it fit in with the no meat, no sugar, no caffeine thing I’m doing at the moment. The “no caffeine” part lasted until I took excedrin for my headache 36 hours after I started. GO FIGURE).

So when one of my knitting people twittered a link to this recipe for Nutella Swirled Banana Bread, I had to try it. Even better, I had 4 overripe bananas sitting in my kitchen just WAITING to be turned into banana bread. Because I buy them and then forget they exist until they’re only good for banana bread. It’s a sick little cycle.

Banana Nutella Bread

Naturally, I made a few small changes to try to make this healthier and use up the bananas I had on hand.
Here’s what I did:

4 small to medium mashed very ripe bananas
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup low fat sour cream
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/3-1/2 cup Nutella

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a large bread pan (I always just spray it down with Pam).

Combine the first 4 ingredients in a medium/large bowl using an electric mixer. Mix in remaining ingredients (except the Nutella) until combined.

Pour about half the batter into your greased loaf pan. Top with half the Nutella & swirl it into the batter. Repeat with the second half of the batter & Nutella.

Bake about 65 minutes (mine only baked for about 45-50 & was a little too moist, so next time I’d leave it in another 5-10 minutes, but my toothpick was clean!). Cool in the pan for about 10 minutes, then remove it to a wire rack to cool completely.

The Nutella in these does get all ooey gooey the next day (and next), so this is not a clean bread to eat. But oh, it’s delicious. Try it now. Don’t make it mere days before you decide to try to go off sugar. It’s not a good idea.

