Knitting update, April 2013

The other day I spilled an entire glass of water onto a bag holding many of my current WIPs. Since I had to lay everything out to dry, I thought I’d take the opportunity to update the progress photos of all my WIPs & my two projects recently off the needles. There are several & I’m hoping to get some of them off the needles this summer (though I fear my knitting time for the 6 weeks I have class will be sorely lacking). Now I just have to get my last bit of homework turned in by Tuesday & I’ll have 3 weeks without classes – there are big plans to knit & read during that time. Woo!

Off the Needles:

Folded.

Folded
I finished this sweater for the second time on Thursday after some insane short rows, a bit more decreasing, and a few rows of garter stitch around the neck. I may have bound off a smidge too tightly this time, but I’ll know more once it’s been blocked again. At least now I can wear it without worrying about my bra straps showing all day.

Spatterdash Mitts
Spatterdash
aka Spattergroit. These still need seamed up & the buttons sewn on, but I did finally get them blocked.

On the Needles

Camptown Races
Camptown Races
I pulled this back out after I finished Folded this week & wanted something a little more exciting than stockinette. I actually wound up frogging the few rows I had done because I had made it too wide, so I went back to the recommended cast on amount & have made a bit of progress. I’m not as far as I was with the original color scheme, but I’m enjoying the knit. Now I just have to make sure I don’t pull my colors too tight on the inside when switching between them.

Eternity Scarf
Eternity Scarf
No progress on this for several weeks, but I am done with the first cartridge rib section & have moved on to the horizontal cartridge rib section. I think I’m going to do fewer rows of stockinette at the top than the pattern calls for to alleviate some of the rolling that might try to choke me as I wear this.

Handspun Hitchhiker
Handspun Hitchhiker
Apparently, as I’ve said on twitter & in public, my goal is to have a hitchhiker on the needles at all times. It’s simple enough to work on in public, it’s great for variegated and handspun yarns, and you can just knit it until you run out of yarn, then bind off.

Souvenir Rayures
Souvenir Rayures
This is one of my projects that has kind of lingered in the background – I’m still excited about it, I’ve just had other projects jump ahead of it for knitting time right now. It’s fun to remember where the yarn came from while I’m knitting it, though.

Grim Adventure Socks
Grim Adventure Socks
Not much progress in the last few weeks, but I do at least have the second toe done on these.

Hermione’s Everyday Socks
Hermione's Everyday Socks
I’m getting close to the heel on the second of these. Loving the pattern – it’s simple, but has just enough texture to keep you engaged. I tend to work on socks when I’m at book club or somewhere else in public (that isn’t knit group).

Dark & Stormy
Dark & Stormy
This sweater has looked the same for quite a while. It’s definitely an at home project, as I would mess up the cables in public (even though they aren’t very hard).

Gramps
Gramps
I really need to work on this baby sweater more. It shouldn’t take that long to make it, but I keep knitting other things instead.

Swatched
Girl Friday
Swatch!
I swatched for this sweater a couple weeks ago – I had gotten some new yarn from Rachel that I was hoping to turn into this sweater, but couldn’t get gauge. I did remember that I had a sweater’s worth of malabrigo rios in Paris Night waiting for a project. Of course, this was right after I said “NO MORE BLUE SWEATERS!”, but I’m calling navy a neutral & thinking ahead to how cute it will look in the fall with a bright pink or magenta t-shirt under it.

One thought on “Knitting update, April 2013

Comments are closed.