Cupcakes Galore

As the semester is winding down (one last class meeting on Tuesday that I’m supposed to be preparing my presentation for & then the final paper due the week after), I’m starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel, or the 3 weeks I have before the summer semester starts. The break in the action is what’s keeping me (mostly) sane.

This weekend was our Relay For Life event & I baked a TON of cupcakes to sell again. Unfortunately, this year was much colder than last year, so the crowd was smaller. We didn’t sell out, but we did make some more money for our event team before calling it a night.

Relay Cupcakes 2013
I made tiny funfetti “birthday” cupcakes to give away to the cancer survivors who happened by our table, but I think most of them headed home after the opening ceremony &/or dinner. Like I said, it was COLD outside on Saturday night. But how cute are these cupcakes?!

Relay Cupcakes 2013
These Salted Caramel Cupcakes are my new favorite to make. Here’s the secret ingredient I used: Fleur De Sel caramels & caramel sauce from Trader Joe’s. Instead of making the caramel filling, I baked one of the caramels into the center of the cupcake. Then I used about 1/3 cup of the sauce in the frosting & drizzled a little more on top, followed by a little sprinkle of sea salt. DIVINE.

Relay Cupcakes 2013
These Yellow Cake cupcakes with chocolate frosting are also surprisingly delicious & do not invoke my “Vanilla Cake Syndrome”. I’ll have to do a proper post on them sometime soon, as I can’t remember where I actually found the recipe now.

Me & Fredbird
We also had Fredbird stop by the table to help us sell some cupcakes. :)

In other news, my computer came home on Tuesday & it took me until Friday to get everything back on it – there was drama because I had two Time Machine backups on the same disk & it chose the wrong one to use to restore everything. So I had to erase the disk & reinstall my OS. Then I tried to restore from the correct backup, but couldn’t access or even FIND any of the files, even though I could see they were taking up space on my hard drive. In the end, I did a copy & paste to get the docs back, reinstalled the software, & even managed to get my iTunes playlists back. WOO.

And now I must get back to work on my presentation. I’ll be back soon to talk about knitting.

