In the Kitchen: Delicious Tomato-y Grilled Cheese

In an attempt to get all my recipes and cooking talk in one place, I’ll be periodically re-posting recipes from my time writing on the Kitchen Mirror here. In some cases I may update pictures & proof-read, but for the most part it will just be a re-posting of what I had there. The posts are not in chronological order – I’m trying to post holiday appropriate recipes near the holidays they go with & fill in others around them.

Originally posted April 23, 2009.

Did you know that April is National Grilled Cheese month?

I’ll be honest, I didn’t know until one of the StL locals twittered about it, then posted a link that inspired this sandwich.

Tomato Soup Grilled Cheese

Looks like a delicious mess of gooey cheese, right? It is, and I’m going to tell you how I did it.

I started with this recipe from Pithy & Cleaver for the Tomato Soup Grilled Cheese and made a few modifications based on preference and my inability to find Sun Dried Tomato Paste at my local grocery. Really, I was trying to make this a tiny bit healthier without losing the flavors that drew me to the recipe in the first place.

Ingredients:

For the creamy tomato soup spread
1 1/2 tablespoons lowfat cream cheese
2 tsp regular tomato paste
scant 1/2 teaspoon sugar
freshly ground pepper (or just regular black pepper if you happen to think you have a pepper grinder when, in fact, all you have is plain ol’ black pepper)
diced/minced garlic, or maybe a little garlic paste. Something garlicky.

For sandwiches
1 slice Asiago cheese
1 slice cheddar (medium, sharp, whatever – I used Sargento medium reduced fat)
2 slices light wheat bread (I use Healthy Life’s Flax Seed Bread – low in carbs, calories, and HFCS free!)
butter or margarine (I used Brummel & Brown)

Take all your ingredients for the tomato soup spread and mix them together. The original recipe said this was enough for 2 sandwiches, but I used most of it on my one sandwich. So I guess it depends on how tomatoey you want your sandwich.

Next, butter each piece of bread lightly on one side. On the other side, spread the tomato mixture. Heat up your griddle or skillet, but keep the heat around medium or low – I actually burned the first side of my sandwich. Put one piece of bread on the griddle butter side down, place 1 slice each cheese on the bread, then top with the other piece of bread. Let it cook for a few minutes – until the bottom is appropriately golden brown – then flip and cook another couple minutes.

Serve with…something. I didn’t get that far as my sandwich finished cooking before I could get a can of soup in the microwave. And then I inhaled the sandwich and followed it up with some pot roast & veggie leftovers from the fridge. WHATEVER. IT WAS DELICIOUS.

This is a recipe that it would be clearly easy to make several at a time, especially since the cheese slices come in packs of 10 around these parts. I probably could have eaten 3 more of them myself, but I didn’t.

Oh, and as for that “healthy” thing I was trying to do, it wasn’t too terrible – if you use the same bread I did (which runs 80 calories for 2 slices), you get a sandwich with 262 calories, 21g carbs, 14g fat, & 19g protein.

