In the Kitchen: Flourless Chocolate Cupcake Bites

I spent some time watching my favorite puppies (nearly 12- and 10- year old puppies, that is) last week, during Passover. As Mindy had already cleaned the house for the holiday, I didn’t do a lot of cooking while I was there. However, before she headed out, we made plans for me to bake Passover-friendly cupcakes for Sarah’s 2nd birthday.

Stef at Cupcake Project has a great selection of Passover-friendly cupcake recipes and I jumped over to try to decide which ones to make this year. Mindy & I agreed on the Flourless Chocolate cupcakes. These were a stretch of my abilities because of the no flour, water bath, melt ALL THE CHOCOLATE required. I also needed (or so I thought) a double batch of them to serve at a work potluck that was on Tuesday.

Flourless Chocolate Cupcakes

I changed nothing about Stef’s recipe, other than I did try to bake a tray without the water bath & that did not work. So don’t do that. These cupcakes are basically chocolate, butter, and eggs.

Flourless Chocolate Cupcakes

I was lucky and got to break in Mindy’s brand new KitchenAid mixer and OH MY GOSH I NEED ONE NOW. It was the BEST. I was tempted to go buy one as soon as I got paid this month, but I’m going to try to be responsible and save up for it over a few months. But OH MY GOSH I WANT ONE RIGHT NOW. With the baking for Relay for Life coming up this month it would be great to have, but must be responsible and adult and not distracted by the shiny (Target has one in Flamingo Pink and that is the one I want. SO HARD.)

Flourless Chocolate Cupcakes

After the cupcakes came out of the oven & cooled, I tried one. These are decadent. Rich. And, I thought, too much to have a full sized cupcake of. So I decided to turn them into “cupcake bites” by cutting each cupcake into fourths, then adding the frosting. I put them in mini cupcake liners after they were cut up, then stored them in the refrigerator – they soften up quite a bit when out of the fridge, turning them to the consistency of a truffle filling.

Cupcake bites

When I decided to turn these into “bites”, the cutting of the cupcakes got a little messy, so I had to lock the puppies out of the kitchen. Bittersweet chocolate + dogs who hoover up anything on the floor = not a good combination.

photo.JPG

I had a coworker tell me that these were the best thing she’s ever eaten. Rachel and Jamie both said these are in their top 5 favorites of my cupcakes. I thought I was going to get away with not having to make these again, but they might have to go in the rotation for very special occassions.

