In the Kitchen: Chocolate Raspberry Bread Pudding

A few years ago, Angie over at Fluid Pudding hosted a BreadPuddingAlong and I made a banana bread pudding. I love bread pudding and have been wanting to make some for several weeks, so when Angie mentioned hosting a 2nd BreadPuddingAlong, I knew I had to join in the fun. And by “fun”, I mean “delicious bread pudding that will all go in my face”.

Chocolate Raspberry Bread Pudding

I once had a friend who was a chef & she had a fabulous bread pudding recipe – she would use the same basic recipe and add different things to it, like peaches when she found herself with an abundance of them. One time when another friend came to visit, she made a chocolate raspberry bread pudding that was amazing and I still think of it fondly.

Chocolate Raspberry Bread Pudding

So when I was looking for an idea for a “quick” bread pudding*, I thought of that Chocolate Raspberry Bread Pudding. A quick internet search led me to this recipe from the Inquiring Chef, so I thought I’d give it a try.

Chocolate Raspberry Bread Pudding

In the end, mine should have hung out in the fridge a little longer (I skimped on that hour of “rest”) and baked a wee bit longer, but I was impatient tonight. Also, I probably should have cut up just a smidge more bread for this one, as my custard-bread ratio was a little high. But this was a tasty bread pudding, something that would be great served with a dollop of whipped cream and a tall glass of milk.

Chocolate Raspberry Bread Pudding

*The one I originally wanted to make required an overnight soak in the fridge & I did not have time for that.

