Getting healthy update, February 2013.

So. I quit Weight Watchers. I felt like I was setting myself up to fail with it – I’d have a bad points day early in the week & then just say “fuck it” and eat what I wanted without tracking for the rest of the week. It was not a good system. The minute I hit the cancellation button on my account, I felt better.

I’ve started tracking using SparkPeople again. That way if I have a bad day food wise, I can just move forward. It doesn’t feel like I lost the week & gives me a good sense of what I need to do differently in order to be healthier.

Over the weekend I found myself doing a lot of extra activity just around the apartment & by the end of the day, my ankle that got trapped in the baby gate was screaming at me. It hurt exactly where it got smooshed by the gate, so I’m wondering if I bruised the bone when I did this FIVE MONTHS AGO. I have an appointment with the orthopedic doc on Friday morning to get it checked out. I really just want to be sure that I’m not going to be doing any more damage to it if I increase my activity level.

Speaking of which, I had an epiphany of sorts about exercise a couple weeks ago. I did not start out able to spend 60 minutes exercising. I had to build up to it & I started with some short videos from SparkPeople – 10 minutes at a time, slowly increasing until I was going to hour long classes at the gym. So I don’t know why I thought that after months back on the couch I should be able to do 60 minutes right off the bat. I wasn’t exercising because I couldn’t do that, so now the plan is to start off slowly again – start over, even, as I’ve been a lump of inactivity for far too long.

