In the Kitchen: Baked Kale Chips

In an attempt to get all my recipes and cooking talk in one place, I’ll be periodically re-posting recipes from my time writing on the Kitchen Mirror here. In some cases I may update pictures & proof-read, but for the most part it will just be a re-posting of what I had there. The posts are not in chronological order – I’m trying to post holiday appropriate recipes near the holidays they go with & fill in others around them.

Author note: I first tried these a couple years ago because Shannon & Mindy kept talking about how delicious they were, so I had to see for myself. Now you can find pre-baked kale chips everywhere, sometimes doused in flavorings (note: Don’t get the nacho ones from Trader Joe’s – they’re not crisp & have far too much flavoring for a kale chip).

Originally posted October 17, 2010.

Something about the produce section of my local grocery stores scares me. It’s not the fruit section, but the vegetables. I can pick up pretty much any fruit and know that I can just eat it raw. Not a problem. But the veggies? Some of them I had NO IDEA what to do with. It doesn’t help that they aren’t always labeled well, either.

Just today, I stopped in my local grocery to pick up some things for dinner & stopped to look at the greens because I wanted to pick up some kale. Except I’ve never bought kale before & I wasn’t entirely sure what it looked like in raw form. I wandered the section for a bit, eventually coming upon the “greens, 99¢ a bunch” section. Okay. Upon closer inspection, the only “greens” in this section were collard greens & kale. Now, I know what collard greens look like in raw form, even if only because I have to feed them to Mindy’s iguana when I go over to petsit for them. By process of elimination, the other unmarked “greens” in that section had to be the kale.

But why the need for kale? Because I have friends who turn them into kale chips and talk about them. A lot. So I needed to try it out for myself.

YIP 108.365 Kale Chips

I originally saw these at Smitten Kitchen, though the basics are really up to you.

Ingredients:

1 bunch kale
1tbsp olive oil
sea salt, to taste

Take your kale & remove the center stem/rib. Then chop or tear into pieces – bite size is probably best, I went a bit bigger with mine. Shake with olive oil to coat, then sprinkle with sea salt. Place in a single layer on cookie sheet, bake for 20 minutes at 300º F.

I have a small oven & small cookie sheet, so I only did 1/2 the bunch & I had about 5 batches go through my oven.

The jury is still out. I can’t stop eating them, but the taste is slightly odd. Not in a bad way, but just…odd. I can’t really explain it.

