In the Kitchen: Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

In an attempt to get all my recipes and cooking talk in one place, I’ll be periodically re-posting recipes from my time writing on the Kitchen Mirror here. In some cases I may update pictures & proof-read, but for the most part it will just be a re-posting of what I had there. The posts are not in chronological order – I’m trying to post holiday appropriate recipes near the holidays they go with & fill in others around them.

Author note: I had originally planned to post some Valentine-y cupcakes today, but I’m still playing around with the recipe, so I’ll be posting them either on or after V-day. I thought this recipe would also be nice if you were making a Valentine’s day dessert, so I decided to put it up now. I also still remember this cake fondly even though I’ve not made it again (mostly because I never keep buttermilk in the house). I may have to remedy that soon.

Originally posted June 2, 2010.

Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

Maybe it’s the addiction to cupcakes and sugar. Maybe it’s that I like feeding people. Maybe it’s that I find baking the easiest food to experiment with. Whatever it is, when Mindy & her husband were putting together a small bbq over the weekend, I was told that I was responsible for dessert.

So the first thing I did was hit up the bookmarks on my computer (as I’m still trying to work my way through them as I add more and more) and found that I had bookmarked two separate buttermilk cakes. In the end, I went with the Smitten Kitchen recipe for Raspberry Buttermilk Cake.

Raspberry Buttermilk Cake Prep

The changes I made to the recipe were minor. I omitted the lemon zest & replaced the sugar dusting on top with a raw cane sugar.

Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

In the end, I came home with an empty plate and no cake left. It got great reviews after dinner, people were especially fond of the crunch that the sugar gave the top of the cake.

But at least I had leftover buttermilk, so I was able to make some delicious Oatmeal Buttermilk Muffins to which I also added a dash of cinnamon & vanilla and filled with Trader Joe’s Golden Berry Blend (raisins, dried cranberries, blueberries, & I don’t know what else – deliciousness, though).

Oatmeal Buttermilk Muffins

