Handmade Holidays: Fabric & Thread Edition

I’ve already talked about the knits I finished for the 2012 holiday season, but there were also a few things I whipped out on the sewing machine as well.

I decided to make fun little drawstring bags that I could use as gift bags for everyone this year (and naturally grabbed a couple myself). These take 3 fat quarters, though you can mix & match the outer fabrics into a different bag. I used this super easy and excellent tutorial from In Color Order to make them all.

Drawstring Bags

The fabrics were a mix of batik & Dyeabolical fat quarters, with the exception of the birds (they were part of a theme, as you’ll soon see). These didn’t work out as gift bags for everybody since some of my gifties were a little too large to fit in them, but I liked them as a fun little addition to everyone’s gifts.

Then I made a couple things for Sharon, who had fallen in love with the bird fabric I used in my newest Birdie Sling bag & iPad cover. So I made her a Swing Bag (Amy Butler pattern) & iPad cover of her own.

Swing Bag

iPad case

I kind of fussy cut the iPad case to make sure the birds didn’t get chopped in half or stuck in a seam when I was cutting the fabric. The zipper for the case was initially going to be green, but I didn’t realize the one I had was an invisible zipper until it was too late. After trying to work with it and getting very frustrated, I decided to go with the brown one instead.

And that does it for the holiday crafts of 2012. Now if I was only smart enough to start on the ones for next year before November 1st.

One thought on “Handmade Holidays: Fabric & Thread Edition

Comments are closed.