In the Kitchen: Roasted Brussel Sprouts

One new recipe I tried for Christmas dinner is something that would be good any time. It has also made me realize that my favorite way of preparing vegetables is to roast them – just a little drizzle of olive oil & sprinkling of salt (or other seasoning) makes for a delicious pan of roasted vegetable goodness.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

I found the recipe in a list of holiday sides on the Southern Living website. As their picture was enticing & I was looking for something simple but delicious, I decided to try it out.

It’s easy enough to make:

  1. Get about 2 pounds of brussel sprouts & cut them in half (I used frozen & they worked fine).
  2. Drizzle with about 2 tbsp of olive oil & a little salt & pepper in a baking pan (I used a 9×13 Pyrex pan).
  3. Bake at 425 about 20 minutes (or a little longer for frozen – I think I went about 30).
  4. While baking, fry about 8 slices of pancetta, bacon, or prosciutto until crispy.* Crumble & set aside until sprouts are done.
  5. Top finished sprouts with a bit of parmesan cheese & the bacon crumbles.
  6. Enjoy!

I would suggest maybe cutting the recipe in half if you’re only cooking for two or three people. Otherwise you may wind up with leftovers. They reheat just fine, but if you’re like me and forget you have leftovers in the fridge, it would be better to keep them to a minimum.

*I used prosciutto on accident – I grabbed the wrong package in the grocery store & didn’t realize what I’d done until I was cooking on Christmas day, so I went with it & it worked out just fine.

One thought on “In the Kitchen: Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Comments are closed.