Handmade Holidays: Yarny edition.

Now that the holidays are over & my gifts are all gifted (well, mostly), let’s talk about the handmade yarn-related gifts.

As you may remember, in a brief bout of insanity in 2011 I thought I might knit socks for all my giftees. I realized this was insane after the first pair, but had already started on socks for my Dad. They did not get finished in time for that Christmas, nor anytime near it. In fact, it wasn’t until October of this year that I picked them up and started working on them diligently so that I could gift them to him THIS year.
IMG_1590
I bring you the socks of DOOM! Otherwise known as a 3×2 ribbed toe-up sock madefor my dad’s size 11EEE feet. I used a sportweight yarn & the basic instructions for the toe-up slipped-stitch heel socks in Socks From the Toe Up (that pattern alone made this book worth the purchase price to me). I finished these off with a 1×1 twisted rib at the top. It only took me 13 months to finish these. More details on the ravelry page.

For D2, I whipped up a pair of fingerless mitts using the Three Leaf Mitts pattern. These came out quite small, but they did fit Darlene quite nicely. (ravelry page)
Three Leaf Armwarmers

Speaking of D2 – when she & dad came up for Christmas lunch, I had a small container of yarn in the living room – I had recently culled the stash & this was the box that needed photos & updated on ravelry. She saw it and said “Oh, is that where you keep all your extra yarn?” I laughed & said “No. But it’s cute that you think that’s my entire yarn stash”.

For Mindy, I made a couple items – first up , I made the Wavelength cowl in the shorter version. I quite love this & had a little trouble giving it up, so I’ll have to make one for myself sometime soon.
Mindy's Cowl
I used malabrigo rios for this (and the next project), which I do just love knitting with. (ravelry page)

Also for Mindy, I knit the Rosebud hat. I initially knit this one in the slouchier size, but when I blocked it, it grew big enough to fit a Conehead, so I ripped back a repeat & redid it in the smaller size. It turned out quite nice, though. I do love a slouchy hat. (ravelry page)
Rosebud

And finally, for Sarah, I just had to knit this cute little fair isle hat. I used leftovers from the group blanket we made for her & just couldn’t stop knitting until I was done with it. (ravelry page)
Sarah's Hat

And bonus photo of her wearing it while we were at lunch over the holiday break.
Sarah & her new hat! :)

That’s all the knitty projects I finished for the holidays of 2012. There are still a few sewing projects to go through, so we’ll finish up the holiday discussion with those later. :)

2 thoughts on “Handmade Holidays: Yarny edition.

Comments are closed.