In the Kitchen: Dark Chocolate & Peppermint M&M cookies

For the holidays, I baked up a batch of these cookies as part of a gift package. I didn’t add the candy canes, but instead added a bit of peppermint extract.

They turned out great, but I had the thought that they would be extra delicious if I used dark chocolate chips in place of the white chocolate chips, so I had to try it out.

Dark & White Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

These did turn out pretty delicious, especially if you are a fan of peppermint (and may have picked up a bag or two of the White Chocolate Peppermint m&m’s at your local Target).

Here’s the recipe with my mods:

Dark Chocolate & Peppermint M&M Cookies
Adapted from Two Peas & Their Pod

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 cup butter, softened.
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated (white) sugar
2 large eggs
1 tbsp vanilla
1/2 tsp peppermint extract
1 cup dark or semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used Ghiradelli 60% cocoa)
1 cup White Chocolate Peppermint M&Ms

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix together dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking soda) in medium bowl.

In large bowl, cream sugars & butter together until combined. Add in eggs, vanilla, & peppermint extract and beat until smooth. Add in the dry ingredients slowly. Then stir in chocolate chips & M&M’s.

Using a small cookie scoop, drop onto your cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes. Let the cookies cool briefly on the sheet, then move to a wire rack to cool completely.

NOTES: the original calls for a cookie sheet with a silpat or parchment paper. I used ungreased airbake cookie sheets with no problems. I also left the cookies on the baking sheet for about 8 minutes before moving them to a wire rack.

