In the Kitchen: Penzey’s Baked Oatmeal

In an attempt to get all my recipes and cooking talk in one place, I’ll be periodically re-posting recipes from my time writing on the Kitchen Mirror here. In some cases I may update pictures & proof-read, but for the most part it will just be a re-posting of what I had there. The posts are not in chronological order – I’m trying to post holiday appropriate recipes near the holidays they go with & fill in others around them.

Originally posted February 16, 2009.

A couple weeks ago I decided to try out a recipe for baked oatmeal after hearing about it from other people. And, well, I like oatmeal, so I figured this would be a good change of pace.

Baked Oatmeal
The recipe I used was one I found online at Penzey’s(who make great spices, by the way).  In my version, I used pecans because I always chose them over any other nut in baking & craisins because I had some leftover from another baking escapade.This recipe made 8 servings as I made it at about 235 calories. It was really good, definitely a remake on my list. It even reheats well & I have a few servings leftover in my freezer & we’ll see if they are still good later.Baked Oatmeal

I was trying to keep this somewhat healthy, so I didn’t top it with anything, but I bet it would be delicious with whipped cream. Or, y’know, maybe with the optional fruit & yogurt they suggest on the recipe page.

Edit: As the recipe is no longer available where I found it, I’m posting it below.

Penzey’s Baked Oatmeal
Serves 6-8
Ingredients:
2 1/4 Cups quick oats (or 2 3/4 cups old fashioned oats)
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup raisins or dried cranberries
1/2 cup chopped nuts (the original recipe called for walnuts)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
3 1/3 cups skim milk
4 egg whites, lightly beaten
1 tsp vegetable oil
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
milk, yogurt, & fruit (optional)
Preheat oven to 350F. Spray an 8-inch glass baking dish with cooking spray. In large bowl, mix together dry ingredients (oats, sugar, raisins, nuts, cinnamon, & salt). In medium bowl, mix together wet ingredients (milk, egg whites, oil, & vanilla). Add wet mixture to dry mixture & mix together until well blended. Pour into baking dish & bake for 55-60 minutes (until center is set & firm to the touch). Cool slightly, serve topped with milk or yogurt & fruit. Enjoy.
