‘Tis the Season…

…for many holiday parties.

Between Thursday & Sunday, I had 3 different holiday parties/potlucks to attend plus a batch of “intern’s last day of work” cupcakes to make. Needless to say, there was a lot going on, especially during a week where I had my final papers due for classes. But, I managed to get through it, partially by bringing a frozen cheesecake from Trader Joe’s as my contribution to the first party and also by having enough cupcakes leftover from Saturday’s party that I didn’t need to make new ones for Sunday’s. Although, truth be told, I was a little disappointed about not needing the planned Sunday cupcakes – it’s a new recipe I’m looking forward to trying, but they’ll be made for the family Christmas eve party instead.

Yarn swap!

Yarn swap acquisition

Thursday was a potluck and yarn swap at Mindy’s for the Wednesday knitters. I cleared out my yarn stash & took some things that I knew I wouldn’t use anymore, including the yarn I had purchased to make the Central Park Hoodie – I finally faced up to the reality that I would never knit that sweater, even though I bought the pattern twice. I came home with a small addition to the stash, luckily not nearly as much came home to stay as I took with me. Although there is still quite the pile of yarn in my car — the leftovers that people didn’t want to take back are being donated to a shawl ministry that makes hats for homeless men in the area & the remainder is going to the Upcycle Exchange.

Friday was the music therapy intern’s last day, so I brought in some Dr. Pepper cupcakes to share. As I was leaving the office for the day, I felt like a cupcake fairy because I kept leaving cupcakes at people’s desks so I would be able to use my containers again for the Saturday party.

Saturday’s cupcakes for the work holiday party were Coca Cola cupcakes with Salted Peanut Butter Buttercream frosting. I doubled the recipe (which I did not need to do) and the frosting recipe (which would have frosted all 2 dozen without the doubling), but the dessert table at the party overflowed with delicious things. Mental note: Next year I bring mini cupcakes and only what fits in one carrier tray. For now, the leftover frosting is in my freezer for next time I need to make a peanut butter buttercream.

Cupcakes for work party ready to go!

Sunday’s party was for the Sunday knit group, where we knit, ate, and had a gift exchange. It’s just as much fun to see what everyone else gets as it is to get something yourself. It was fun, and a nice ending to the week(end) of parties.

Even with all these parties, I was able to finish up the 3 knit projects I needed to get done by Christmas and even started what I hope will be a quickie crochet project to add to one of the gifts. I still need to wash & block the last 3 gifts, but I’m feeling much better about being able to get things done now.

