In the Kitchen: Santa’s Nuts

In an attempt to get all my recipes and cooking talk in one place, I’ll be periodically re-posting recipes from my time writing on the Kitchen Mirror here. In some cases I may update pictures & proof-read, but for the most part it will just be a re-posting of what I had there. The posts are not in chronological order – I’m trying to post holiday appropriate recipes near the holidays they go with & fill in others around them.

Originally posted January 3, 2009

Another first time recipe for me during the holiday season was Santa’s Nuts.

Santa's Nuts
I took these to the family Christmas gathering, but not much got eaten. It could be because I kept telling everyone “Santa’s Nuts are delicious!”.

I got the recipe from someone I work with and had to make them myself after she brought in a bowl for us to try.

Santa’s Nuts
2 tbs olive oil
2 tbs sugar
2 tsp ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground coriander (if desired)
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
20 oz mixed nuts of your choice
12-16 oz mixed dried fruit (I used the tropical mix from Trader Joe’s)

Mix together everything but the dried fruit* and place on baking pan or cookie sheet.

Cook at 300 degrees for 15 minutes. stir every 5 min until toasted.

Add dried fruit when cooled.

*Note: I mixed together all the spices/sugar in a small bowl, then put the nuts in a larger bowl and drizzled the oil over them before mixing in the spices. I wanted to be sure everything got distributed evenly. :)

Also, I’m not sure I would use the coriander again. The taste is fine, but the smell of it during the toasting process was a bit overpowering.

One thought on “In the Kitchen: Santa’s Nuts

  1. I’d eat Santa’s Nuts!
    …yeah, I totally laughed at the title of your post. But that recipe sounds really good! :)

Comments are closed.