In the Kitchen: Leftover Sweet Potato Casserole Cupcakes

Leftover Sweet Potato Casserole Cupcakes

Last weekend I went to a Mocksgiving celebration with friends, for which I made pumpkin pie & sweet potato casserole. We had a nice time chatting and visiting while we waited for the turkey to finish cooking. Mmm, turkey. Yummy turkey and delicious sides.

Sweet Potato Casserole(recipe for the sweet potato casserole can be found here)

I came home with about half the pan of casserole left & knew I wouldn’t be able to eat it all, if any more of it at all. So I started wondering if I could use the leftover casserole in a cupcake. I’ve made Sweet Potato Casserole Cupcakes before, but that was just with mashed sweet potato & not sweet potato that had already been mixed with other ingredients. So I decided to experiment & see if I could take my leftover casserole & turn it into cupcakes.

I started with this recipe from Stef at Cupcake Project, which is my favorite Sweet Potato Casserole Cupcake (I’ve tried a couple. This one is delicious). I played with the ingredient list just a bit to take into account the sugar, butter, and eggs that were already in the casserole.

It turns out that you CAN take leftover casserole & turn it into delicious cupcakes.

Leftover Sweet Potato Casserole Cupcakes

Leftover Sweet Potato Casserole Cupcakes
Makes about 24 cupcakes

Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp allspice
1 cup granulated sugar*
1/2 cup + 3 tbsp butter, melted & cooled
3 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 cups leftover sweet potato casserole (approximate, including topping)**

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. In medium bowl, whisk together your dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, & allspice).
3. In large bowl, mix together sugar, butter, & eggs. Add dry ingredients & whisk together until incorporated. Add leftover casserole & whisk together until combined.
4. Scoop into liners, filling each about halfway. Bake 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the cupcake comes out clean. Let cool briefly in pans, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Caramel Glaze (same as the frosting in the original recipe):
2 tbsp butter
4 tbsp half & half + extra
1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 cup powdered sugar, divided
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Mix in brown sugar & 4tbsp half & half, boil vigourously for 1 minute. Remove from heat & beat in 1/2 cup powdered sugar***. Cool slightly & add vanilla & other 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. Add more half & half if needed (I just pour a bit in). Spoon over cupcakes before glaze sets. Enjoy yummalicious cupcakes.

Leftover Sweet Potato Casserole Cupcakes

*Note: I left out the brown sugar that the original recipe called for because the only sugar in my casserole (and in the topping) was brown sugar. Play with this based on the ingredients in YOUR casserole.

**Note 2: I tossed my casserole in the microwave for just about 30 seconds to make sure it wasn’t still super cold from the refrigerator.

***Note 3: I have yet to make this without some of the little powdered sugar clumps staying clumpy. I’m guessing I could cut down on or eliminate this if I would sift my powdered sugar first.

One thought on “In the Kitchen: Leftover Sweet Potato Casserole Cupcakes

Comments are closed.