In the Kitchen: Banana Pudding

I used to write about my kitchen escapades on a group blog, but we all kind of faded out of writing there & I started doing my kitchen writing here. I find that I keep looking for certain recipes here that I’ve used before only to remember they’re not here. So, in an attempt to get all my recipes and cooking talk in one place, I’ll be periodically re-posting those recipes & such here. In some cases I may update pictures & proof-read, but for the most part it will just be a re-posting of what I had there.

Originally posted July 7, 2008.

I’ve been craving some REAL banana pudding for a while now. It’s part of my whole “I must get back to Memphis just to eat ribs, more bbq, more ribs, and nanner puddin'” thing I’ve been feeling for the past year or so. It’s been too long.

So, when invited to a 4th of July BBQ this weekend, I decided to take matters into my own hands and attempt to make some banana pudding of my own.

Of course I started out with a recipe, courtesy of Paula Deen.

I didn’t have a double boiler, so I sat and stirred and stirred and stirred my milk, cornstarch, & sugar for a while until it thickened up.

P7040253.JPG

Then I added my eggs, but apparently didn’t temper them enough with the custard because they cooked a little before they mixed in. It didn’t really matter because it still tasted good in the end.

I just had to take pictures as I layered everything in:

P7040255.JPG

P7040256.JPG

And the finished product:

P7040259.JPG

Obviously, I skipped the meringue topping, intending instead to used some whipped cream, which I then left at home. Again, it was still good enough to eat.

One thought on “In the Kitchen: Banana Pudding

Comments are closed.