In the Kitchen: Playing Catch Up

I haven’t been doing a ton of baking this summer, but there has been a bit going on here and there. So, let’s talk about the few new things that have come out of my kitchen this summer.

For the birthday seaming party/potluck lunch, I made these Coca Cola Cupcakes with Salted Peanut Butter Buttercream frosting.

Coca Cola Cupcakes with Salted Peanut Butter Buttercream

The original recipe from Sprinkle Bakes can be found here and I made no changes to it (with the small exception of using Mexican Coca Cola instead of the stuff with HFCS in it).

I remember these being quite tasty and also remember having some extra frosting in my refrigerator for far longer than I should admit. I do love anything with a chocolate cake base, though.

On a random Tuesday several weeks ago, I found myself with too many boxes of cereal and a pinned recipe for Peanut Butter Cheerios treats. I also had marshmallows and mini chocolate chips at my disposal, so it was inevitable that I should try these out.

Peanut Butter Cheerio Treats

These…were not all that. I don’t know how so many of the right ingredients can make something that just isn’t fabulous. I mean, they were fine, but they are no salted rice krispie treat, y’all. Maybe that’s the problem – I have had the perfect marshmallow-y treat and added it to the regular rotation. When I try other versions, they just don’t quite measure up, yet I KEEP TRYING THEM.

Finally, for our Olympics Opening Ceremony gathering at Kim’s place, I made this Chocolate Chip Cake. I saw the recipe first thanks to Angie and decided that our little gathering would be the perfect time to test it out.

Chocolate Chip Cake

This was rated as delicious by everyone in attendance, so it’s a winner. However, I have decided that I am ill-equipped to judge anything where the cake itself is a vanilla cake of some kind, as I always ALWAYS think it’s come out too dry. I thought this cake was tasty, but again, Vanilla Cake Syndrome (which is EXACTLY what I’ll call it from now on. It’s not your baking, I have Vanilla Cake Syndrome. YES). Ahem, anyway, this seemed to be a good potluck-y type recipe, so I’ll probably make it again.

One thought on “In the Kitchen: Playing Catch Up

Comments are closed.