Corpse Flower In Bloom

A few days ago, I noticed some interesting tidbits coming through my twitter stream – the Corpse Flower at Missouri Botanical Gardens was about to bloom.

I briefly thought that maybe I would venture out to see it when it bloomed, but then didn’t really think much about it for the rest of my weekend, at least not until Sunday morning. A little note came through my twitter stream that said it had bloomed & I decided to forgo my trip to the gym in favor of going to see a giant stinky flower.

Corpse Flower

I bought my admission & waited in line for just about 15 minutes to get close to the flower. I expected that I would be walloped with the scent when I walked into the Linnean House, but I wasn’t. I got closer to the flower, still nothing. I stood right in front of it & snapped a few more pictures, but the scent wasn’t that strong.

Corpse Flower

I was a little disappointed that there wasn’t a stench of rotting meat when I saw the flower, but maybe that’s best. Or maybe my nose is just so clogged up from the allergies that I couldn’t smell anything.

Corpse Flower

After I saw the flower, I wandered for a bit looking at the lanterns being prepared for the Lantern Festival that starts next weekend. This one runs until August, I plan to go back and check it out while the lanterns are up and running. Just not opening weekend.

Latern Festival Set Up

Latern Festival Set Up

