In which I bake, felt, sew, knit, and watch a bunch of movies.

I had a lovely vacation, thank you for asking. I wasn’t really looking forward to getting back to a normal schedule this week, mostly because the alarm going off in the morning is not one of my favorite things (a morning person, I am not).

Early in the week, Shannon sent me a recipe for oatmeal cookies and I found myself unable to resist making them. It didn’t help that I’d also been craving oatmeal cookies of some kind for about a week at that time.
Brown Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
These are Brown Butter Oatmeal Chunk Cookies – the only change I made to the recipe was to use some dark chocolate chips I had instead of chocolate chunks.

On Thursday, I went to lunch with Ann & Rachel, which also involved a stop at Pudd’nhead Books (which I loved. It was hard to resist not spending all my money on ALL the books) and a couple other places in the area. I also stopped at Serendipity because I had not been there before and got a scoop of the salted caramel swirl ice cream. I tasted it & then didn’t even sample any other flavors before saying “YES, I want that one!” SO GOOD.

Thursday evening, Rachel, Mindy, & I all converged on Kat’s place to do some needle felting. This was my first attempt at needle felting, so Kat had to instruct me in the basics. Miraculously, I only stabbed myself with the needle once (and not even that bad).

BEHOLD. My first needle felted anything.
First Needle Felting
I decided to add the leaf at the last minute & I’m pretty happy with how it turned out, given that I’d been doing this for all of 2 hours when I decided to try to bust out a leaf. It was fun & I even managed to come home with supplies to try some other felting projects – stabbing the foam block & felting the wool is great for getting out your aggression, people.

The rest of my weekend was pretty quiet – I did some knitting, tried to sew up Mindy’s second pair of lounge pants but failed (mostly because I sewed the wrong seam first on BOTH legs & now have to rip that seam out before I can do anything else. Ripping seams out of fleece is not easy), and had myself a little Harry Potter movie marathon. I made it through 7 of the 8 movies in 3 days. YIKES. I skipped Goblet of Fire b/c it was my least favorite book & it’s my least favorite movie, otherwise I might not have made it to the end. During my movie marathon, I realized that I first started reading the HP books 12 years ago & even now I am still attached to these characters. There aren’t many series that are like that for me. (Also, I totally want to go to the HP thing at Universal Studios. And apparently there’s a studio tour opening sometime this Spring in London & I kind of want to go to that, too. Of course, I want to go to London in general, so the studio tour would be a bonus if I ever get over there.)

So, now the work week has started & I’m back to the grind. Which isn’t really a grind at all, actually. There is not enough caffeine in the world this week.

One thought on “In which I bake, felt, sew, knit, and watch a bunch of movies.

Comments are closed.