Witty title goes here.

Once again, life has been life. I’ve been spending the time I usually write here either reading or knitting lately (or knitting ALWAYS).

I read something last week that I can best classify as Pride & Prejudice fan fiction, only it was an actual published book. It was both awful and awesome. I could not stop reading it, but some of the things were so ridiculous that I just shook my head. It was set in 2011(ish) and in America. While everyone else’s names and stories adapted to the modified setting, for some inexplicable reason, Lady Catherine was still referred to as Lady Catherine. At least I had just checked out the ebook from the library. I would not have wanted to spend money on this.

Naturally, I followed that up with a story about the creation of the universe – Mr g by Alan Lightman. It was not as good as Einstein’s Dreams (which still rates pretty high on my “favorite books ever” list), but it was still enjoyable. I’m also in the midst of If You Were Here by Jen Lancaster. I’m enjoying the John Hughes references, but as someone who doesn’t actually own a home, I’m not sure about the remodeling portions. Then again, I did just get to the part where they’ve moved into the house (I was distracted by Darcy as a rock star & the creation of the universe, after all), so I’m hopefully it will pick up. It’s funny, but I think Lancaster’s real life memoirs are funnier.

As for knitting, I’m working on a sample knit for Rachel that is due at the end of the month, so I am being a monogamous knitter for once. I don’t even have any pictures of it in progress because it doesn’t look like much on the needles. I kind of can’t wait to see how much it grows when I finish it. I also had to put aside my color obsession affection shawl that is so very close to finished. I have one more tiny two row stripe & 2 inches of garter stitch border to finish on it. I am so in love with garter stitch right now, which is weird since I got tired of it easily once upon a time.

I’m looking forward to next week when I will be vacationing. I’m not going anywhere, but I hope to get a ton of knitting, sewing*, and reading done. If I have enough energy (stupid sinuses are dragging me down), I may even rearrange my bedroom. I’ve wanted to do it for like 6 months, but it will require strength and effort.

Enjoy this little tune from the Black Keys before you go.

*Mindy will get her fleece pj pants just in time for it to be too warm to wear them. Then again, I’m not sure it got cold enough this winter for fleece pj pants at all.

