In the Kitchen: Knit Night Treats

Last week when Selena was visiting, I made some tasty treats for Knit Night.

Cake Batter Bars

These cake batter bars were good, but I wanted a little crunch from the sprinkles. I don’t know how I would achieve that in the future, but it’s something to think about. Mindy said they needed chocolate – chocolate chips instead of sprinkles would probably be a delicious alternative.

White Chocolate Butter Bars

These. White Chocolate Butter Bars. Seriously, y’all. These are what I always want gooey butter cake to taste like. Sweet & a little gooey with a hit of white chocolate sprinkled between layers. YUM.

Slow Cooker Rocky Road Candy

I discovered as I was planning my bake-a-thon that Selena had gone gluten-free. So when I was randomly looking at other recipes on Crockpot 365, I clicked on the little “dessert” tab & found this recipe for Rocky Road candy. Could not have been easier to make, though the marshmallows did start to melt into the chocolate just a little. I think next time I would use either milk chocolate or dark chocolate chips – the semisweet chips were just not quite the right flavor. It didn’t stop me from finishing off the batch when I came home with some, though.

One thought on “In the Kitchen: Knit Night Treats

  1. I’m afraid I must disagree with Mindy re: chocolate chips in the cake batter bars. I think that would just be too over-the-top (and not in a good way).

    If you want to add just a bit more texture, how about sprinkling raw sugar on just a few minutes before they’re finished baking? I think that’s coarser even than sprinkles (though not nearly so pretty).

    PS>If that doesn’t work, I officially offer myself to eat the rejects.

Comments are closed.