A brief holiday review.

It was a busy week leading up to Christmas, so I didn’t get a chance to pop in here much. Of course, I also had very little to talk about that week – secret knitting, other secret crafting, cooking, and cleaning don’t make for a very interesting blog.

But now the holidays are (mostly) over, gifts have all been exchanged, and I am off work until the 2nd. Yay! Once I’m not chained to the sewing machine this week, I see many episodes of Doctor Who in my future. Well, as many as I can watch given that Ten is about to regenerate into Eleven & season 6 isn’t available on netflix yet.

Christmas CheerWe had our traditional family Christmas Eve celebration at my uncle’s place out in the middle of nowhere this year. Seriously – I was driving & my dad was giving directions. About the time we tried to call to make sure we weren’t lost we found the house. But we had good food and the family is always fun. We played “dirty Santa” again this year, as we always do. I joked at the beginning that I hoped I didn’t get tools again (as I’ve ended up with them the past few years) and I did not. The first thing I had was an Old Spice variety pack, which my cousin stole to give to her boyfriend. As I opened the present she had picked for me, I looked at her and said “You did not do this to me…” and pulled a set of screwdrivers out of the bag (they were nice screwdrivers, but I have quite a few already). Eventually one of my other family members stole the screwdrivers & left me with a holiday picture frame.

Christmas day I had D-squared up here for dinner, where I cooked a turkey breast in the crockpot, tried a new sweet potato casserole recipe, and ate my weight in monkey bread. After they headed home, I just chilled for a while & finished knitting a hat for Mindy (part of her gift).

So now I’m spending my week off not getting much done (so far). I’m trying to get myself back in the habit of going to the gym 3-4 times a week, so I went on Monday & I’ll head there again tomorrow (Wednesday) morning. I also need to get back to doing my hip exercises, but it doesn’t seem to bother me as much if I’m a little bit active. I also found my lost pedometer/fitbug*, so I’ve been using it the past couple days. Even though I’m not walking as much this week as I would if I was at work, It’s nice to see how many steps I’m managing to get in around the apartment.

*it had fallen into my couch & I found it when something else fell in.

