Vanilla Chai Cupcakes

Prior to the party on Sunday, I discovered that one of the attendees doesn’t like chocolate.

This concept is completely foreign to me & makes my brain do weird thought spirals. It’s like those words just can’t exist together “do not like chocolate”. Inconceivable! Most of the cupcakes I want to make these days involve chocolate in some way. Recipes are almost always enhanced by tossing a handful of chocolate chips into the batter. Even the easiest cookies in my arsenal require chocolate.

So, resigned to knowing that some people don’t like chocolate (weirdos), I challenged myself to make something without chocolate to appease the audience and in it I found something deliciously amazing. Yes. Amazing and delicious both. It was the frosting. The cupcake was delicious in it’s own right, but this may have been the best frosting I’ve ever made in my entire baking career. It’s my new standard in buttercreams.

Vanilla Chai Cupcakes

Vanilla Chai Cupcakes (found here)

Chai Spice Mix (I used the one from Chockylit’s Chocolate Chai Spice Cupcakes because I had it left from last time I made those).

2 teaspoons fennel
2 teaspoons cloves
1 tablespoon cardamom
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 teaspoons ginger

Mix all these together. Store any leftovers in a airtight container.

Cupcakes: Make cupcakes according to directions. (I was mildly disappointed that mine were flat & did not have a nice dome, but it looks like they turned out the same as the originals. They still tasted good.)

Vanilla Chai Buttercream – I’m reprinting this recipe here because it’s seriously THAT GOOD.

1 cup (2 sticks butter)
1 tsp vanilla (or vanilla bean paste, if you have it)
2 cups powdered sugar
2-3 tsp chai spice mix

Cream the butter until fluffy. Mix in vanilla and chai spice mix, then add the powdered sugar a little at a time until frosting is the right consistency. Try to avoid sticking your face in the bowl and eating it all before you frost the cupcakes.

Vanilla Chai Cupcakes

One thought on “Vanilla Chai Cupcakes

Comments are closed.