Brown Butter Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

That’s right, people. Cookies with chocolate, bacon, and browned butter. As I’ve mentioned before, I love browned butter – it just gives things an extra oomph without it being too much. And the addition of it to chocolate chip cookies? GENIUS.

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

These would be a fabulous cookie without the bacon, but the addition of it gives you that salty/sweet thing that I just love. And, as Siri said on Sunday, bacon really does make everything better. She also told me that I can never put these cookies near her again (I think she actually said I can never make them again, but that’s a little extreme. Just no cookies for Siri.)

I used this recipe and didn’t make any changes to it other than chopping the milk chocolate really really fine (it melted if I tried to grate it – next time, freeze it first) and baking the bacon* in my oven until crispy – you know I can’t fry bacon without burning it & baking it is the PERFECT solution. Of course now I can make the perfect crispy piece of bacon, which is dangerous for my waistline (let’s not even talk about how I cooked the remaining bacon and then ate it ALL for dinner the other night. SO MUCH BACON.)

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

These were a big hit with everyone who tried them & will definitely make my “let’s bake cookies” list again.

*The 1 cup of bacon turned out to be about 10 slices.

And today’s musical selection – A song I love this time of year, almost regardless of who is performing it.
Sarah McLachlan – River

