Hot Chocolate Cupcakes

We had our second annual work party at the home of our boss, which includes a “dessert bake off”, only there’s no prize I know of or winner announced.

As I mentioned previously, I found a couple recipes on Pinterest that I wanted to try out for this years party, including today’s Hot Chocolate Cupcakes. I saw them & thought they’d be a perfect wintery cupcake. The cake recipe itself was a great chocolate cake base for other cupcakes (not as dark or dense as some others), definitely something I could see playing around with in the future.

Hot Chocolate Cupcakes

I used this recipe from Cupcake Rehab with slight modifications.

Hot Chocolate Cupcakes
makes about 24

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 12 tablespoons unsalted butter, mostly melted*
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk

*The original recipe calls for softened butter, but I found the finished cupcakes had a more pleasing texture when I melted it about halfway in the microwave (about half the time it would take to melt it all the way), as I ended up making them both ways.

Directions (I didn’t change anything here except the baking time – my melted butter batter took less time to bake):

1. In medium sized bowl, combine four, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.
2. In a large bowl, with mixer on medium-high speed, beat butter and sugar until smooth and creamy (two minutes). Beat in eggs and vanilla until fluffy, 1 minute. On low speed, beat in flour mixture alternately with milk, beginning and ending with flour mixture.
3. Fill each cupcake liner 2/3 full (about 3 tablespoons per liner).
4. Bake at 350 F for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from pan to wire rack to cool.

Marshmallow Frosting:

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 (7½ ounce) jar marshmallow cream
  • 3-4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Beat butter until fluffy, add in marshmallow cream & beat until combined. Slowly add in the confectioners’ sugar & vanilla & beat until combined. If it’s too thick, add a smidge of milk. (note – I doubled this recipe for 36 cupcakes & probably didn’t need to do that.)

Once you’ve topped your cupcakes, feel free to embellish with mini marshmallows, mini chocolate chips, & peppermint pieces (though the peppermint pieces will melt into your frosting if you aren’t serving them right away).

ETA: I forgot my Christmas song for the day! This time, Louis Armstrong – ‘Zat You, Santa Claus?

