Day 28: In which I watch Star Wars

I happened upon a Star Wars movie marathon last night about 1/3 of the way into A New Hope and decided to watch a little of it. Once I turned it on, I couldn’t stop watching. I was halfway into The Empire Strikes Back and ready to go to sleep, but I couldn’t stop watching until it was over. I did manage to change the channel before Return of the Jedi started (or I would have been awake & watching until 2am), though now I want to watch it.

I thought it was a little funny to watch it while thinking of all the parody versions out there – Family Guy and Spaceballs came to mind immediately (ooh, maybe I’ll watch Spaceballs this afternoon). I think I actually knew more of what would happen in the movies because of watching the parodies than the originals.

I need to own the trilogy on DVD. I don’t watch it often & in fact this was only the second time in my adult life that I can remember watching any of the original trilogy, but I love it all the same. Empire Strikes Back is the first movie I can remember seeing in the movie theater (and I still have a Star Wars blanket I got way back then, too), so they’ll always hold a special place in my heart.

