Day 25: Reality check

I know that I’m fat. This is no secret.  It’s amazing how much clothing can hide when you’re a fat girl. I feel like I look okay with clothes on (and sometimes I find something that makes me feel like I look pretty good, actually). But then I had a bit of a reality check this week when I looked at myself in the mirror without clothes.

I’ve known for a while that my weight corresponds to some of the women that show up on Biggest Loser. I’m on the low end of the weight class that can be cast for the show, but still – my body looks like a lot of the women who stand on that scale the first time. I just, for whatever reason, didn’t associate that I was in the same place that these women are before they lose the weight. And now that I have, it’s been the kick in the pants I need to get back to where I was actually losing weight and working out more.

So I’m getting back on track – for real this time. This is the kick in the ass I needed. I’m going to get back to the gym, figure out what to do for strength training, and burn the hell out of some calories. I can’t deny the obvious truth that losing more weight will help with my hip more, not to mention it will get me back to where I’m in a healthier body.

One thought on “Day 25: Reality check

  1. *hugs*

    I think writing out a routine and getting the food thing sorted is really hard but helps in the long run. Planning for too much (like, “I’m going to go to the gym EVERY DAY”) is just setting up people for failure, especially this time of year. I do it all the time, and fail. You can totally set modest expectations and meet them with great results. Adding incremental to your workouts and such is the perfect way to get good results (like adding 10% to your time or mileage each week).

    In other words, it sucks and it is hard but you can so do it. You don’t have to be able to run a marathon to be healthy, or lift 100 lbs. Finding fun things to do that are active is key, even if it is just going for a walk or going to zumba or something.

Comments are closed.