Day 18: Caramel Apple Crisp

Continuing my insane “I have too many apples and must bake” episode from last weekend, I tested out this recipe for Caramel Apple Crisp.

Caramel Apple Crisp

I’m not sure how I felt about it. First off, the recipe wasn’t specific enough for me when it mentioned “cinnamon bits” and “caramel bits”. Should I be using cinnamon & caramel chips that one finds in the aisle near chocolate chips? Or the caramels one melts for caramel apples and maybe some red hot type things for the cinnamon? Either way, I thought I had cinnamon chips at home, but I did not. So I subbed in a healthy amount of cinnamon. For the caramel bits, I used the Kraft caramels cut into fourths. This resulted in an extra sweet apple “crisp” that didn’t have enough of the cinnamon flavor that I wanted.

As for the “crisp” part, this is not what I expected – I looked at the picture & recipe title and thought “Oooh, yummy” without really reading through the instructions, so it wasn’t until I was mixing up the crust that I realized there was a crust. I like my apple crisp to be mostly apples with a crunchy coating (that usually contains oats & nuts of some kind) on top. Hence the “crisp” in the title.

I think I would be willing to try this again with the proper cinnamon & caramel bits, though maybe with a slightly different (and crunchier) topping. Or with more tart apples & not the sweeter ones I was trying to use up.

2 thoughts on “Day 18: Caramel Apple Crisp

Comments are closed.