Getting Healthy Update, Week of October 10

It’s been a while since I updated, but mostly because not a lot has been happening. My weight has been stable for the past few weeks (well, since my last update) – I haven’t gained, but I also haven’t lost.

I’ve really struggled with getting back to the gym since I got done with PT for my hip. Getting ready and going to the gym for only 15 minutes at time seemed almost pointless, but without gradually working back up to an hour workout, I was in danger of hurting myself more. Again. I fought with it for a while, but finally made it back to the gym a couple weeks ago and am now at a whole 25 minutes at a time. I was able to carve out some time to get there yesterday & was able to stretch myself a bit by trying to run a couple intervals. My hip is screaming at me a little today because of that, so I probably shouldn’t have done it. But yesterday I was feeling stabby*, so I needed to do something other than just walk on the treadmill, so I ran it out just a little.

Food has been…well, okay. Not great, but better.  I need to do something new and exciting with oatmeal for breakfast, though – I’m reaching that point where the thought of one more bowl of quick oats with cranberries & a touch of brown sugar makes me gag. I literally have to force myself to eat it. Oatmeal works well as a filling breakfast, so I’m reluctant to change the plan too much. I just need more variety.  I’ve been sticking with bringing my healthy lunch to work and this week I replaced my Baked Cheetos with baby carrots. Dinner tends to go off the rails a bit, but I’m trying to at least get back to tracking everything.

I also got some family health news last week that has motivated me to get going again – I don’t want to get too specific, but let’s just say that I can see myself down this same path if I stay where I am. Knowing that it’s preventable is a huge motivator – I just need to take care of myself, watch what I eat, and increase the amount of exercise I get.

*definition of stabby: where one feels like they need to stab at things or people who look at them funny. For me, it usually coincides with what one former blogger called “don’t poke the bear” week.

