Apple Bundt Cake with Brown Butter Vanilla Glaze.

At work yesterday we had an informal little bridal shower for one of my coworkers. I’ve become known as quite the baker around these parts (and, in fact, mockingly “yelled” at a coworker once for saying she’d just run to Sam’s and pick up a cake for something when I could make cupcakes). So I often find myself baking for our parties, events, and chili cookoffs.

The bride-to-be’s favorite cake was Black Forest, so I whipped up a batch of cupcakes for her.
Black Forest Cupcakes
(This recipe, just like the Bloody Valentine cupcakes, but this time I used pressurized whipped cream for the frosting. It was delicious, but didn’t hold up well. I’m guessing real whipped cream would work better, but I didn’t have the ability to make that at work or make it work for this situation).

Anyway, I also wanted to make something that was inspired by Fall. It’s my favorite season – the weather cools down just enough that I can comfortably leave my apartment, the trees change to all those lovely colors, the apples are in season locally (and the SweeTango apples return to the store), and Halloween is just around the corner. So when someone pinned this cake over on Pinterest (which I have a small obsession with now. Must pin EVERYTHING!), I copied her and pinned it, then decided to make it for the shower.

Apple Bundt Cake with Vanilla Brown Butter Glaze

Apple Bundt Cake with Brown Butter Vanilla Glaze.

I made the recipe pretty much as written, so I’m not going to copy it again here. What I did do was this:

  • I used SweeTango apple cider – I was at the grocery store picking up supplies and they had it and OH, it’s delicious straight up. I love a good apple cider.
  • I went with 2 Granny Smith Apples & 2 Pink Lady ones (the pink ladies were hanging out in my fridge begging to be eaten, so they went in the cake).
  • Instead of mace, I used cloves. Mostly because I had cloves & not mace. Since mace & nutmeg are from the same spice family, I increased the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp & only used 1/4 tsp of cloves.
  • I squeezed a whole lemon’s worth of juice into the shredded apples. Then I picked the seeds out because squeezing with the cut side up against my palm did not keep the seeds from falling into the mix. This is what happens when I don’t really read the whole recipe before getting started.
  •  In the glaze, I used 1 tbsp of vanilla bean paste instead of vanilla + vanilla bean seeds.
  • My glaze was also quite light on the powdered sugar, purely out of necessity. I didn’t realize that I wasn’t going to have enough until I was gathering the glaze supplies & noticed I only had a cup of powdered sugar left. I just went with it.

I can’t tell you how excited I was when the cake came out of the pan PERFECTLY. Last time I used my bundt pan, the cake fell apart a little bit. Okay, a lot. It was still delicious, just not pretty. However the apple cake turned out pretty AND delicious. It was the perfect taste of fall.

Apple Bundt Cake with Vanilla Brown Butter Glaze

Now I just need to decide what I’m baking for the chili cookoff dessert table…

