Reading: Medium Raw by Anthony Bourdain

I’m admittedly terrible at reviewing books. I read quite a bit, but never know what I should say about a book when I’m done. As a kid, book reports were the bane of my existence once teachers started wanting more than a summary of what I had read. Symbolism is usually lost on me. Luckily, this book had none of that.

Medium Raw: A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People Who CookMedium Raw: A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People Who Cook by Anthony Bourdain

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I normally gravitate towards novels, so this was a bit of a departure for me. But as I love watching Tony on No Reservations, I also enjoy reading his writing. While I was reading this, I could hear him in my head. The writing sounds like him. He talks about a lot of people in the cooking world who I only know of because they’ve been on the show, as I’m not really that into the food scene in general.

For those people that had been on the show, I was able to picture the ones who had made some kind of impression on me (possibly because I’ve watched some of the episodes multiple times, maybe just because Tony was so excited about that person). The others, not as much. I think knowing who he was talking about helped me make sense of those parts of the book.

I’d recommend if you’re a fan of Tony & like the show, or even if you (eventually) want to find out what has happened to a lot of the people from Kitchen Confidential (which, full disclosure, I have not read yet).

View all my reviews

