In which I acquire more yarn.

Last night found the Wednesday knitting crew hitting up The Loopy Ewe for a last hurrah of sorts. As they are moving sometime in October, the fondling of yarn needed to happen one last time. The 11 of us invaded their space, which was already a bit busy, and proceeded to buy much yarn.

Honestly, I’m surprised they have anything left.

Before we even went, I told Mindy that I was not allowed to get any yarn that was blue/teal/aqua. My stash runeth over with blue/teal/aqua. In fact, I’m pretty sure I told her to smack me if I even put anything blue/teal/aqua in my basket (so naturally, the first thing in my basket had shades of blue, but in my defense I didn’t realize how much blue until I got it in different light and then I put it back on the shelf). I came home with a small selection of fingering weight yarns, mostly in neutrals:
My small haul
What you see there are two skeins of madelinetosh sock in Kale & Smokey Orchid, some Fiberphile Squooshy in Sweet Potato Pie and a skein of Dream In Color Smooshy in Grey Tabby. They will all become, um, something. Eventually.

I gravitate towards fingering weight yarn when I don’t have a project planned because I know I can always do a pair of socks or a small shawl/scarf with a single skein. I’m not really a yarn collector, I intend to knit with all the yarn I have – I can’t stand to have something just because it’s pretty. I need it to be able to become something pretty as well. MUST KNIT YARNS.

So, now that I’ve been a bit of a yarn glutton, I’m taking a little break – an informal yarn diet. Nothing too restrictive, but no purchases because of the “OOH, SHINY”  moment until I knit down some of the stash. Besides, I have to start thinking about what I’m doing for the holidays this year. I’ll just get back to enabling my friends to increase their own yarn stash.

One thought on “In which I acquire more yarn.

Comments are closed.