In The Kitchen: Baked Oatmeal

Baked Oatmeal

Earlier this week I was trying to think of something that would be quick and easy to take to work for breakfast, but wasn’t going to be just the same old bowl of oatmeal that I can barely choke down anymore. Rachel had said something on twitter about baked oatmeal I had previously made a baked oatmeal from Penzey’s*, but that was before I was trying to watch what I’m eating. So I went searching for another recipe and found a simple one from Quaker that I modified a bit.

Baked Oatmeal
adapted from QuakerOats.com

1 1/4 c. old fashioned oats
1 c. hot multigrain hot cereal (I used this one)*
2/3 cup brown sugar
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
3 1/3 cups fat-free milk
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla

*You can use just use all regular oats if you want to.

Mix together oats, hot cereal, brown sugar, nutmeg, & cinnamon.
In another bowl, mix together eggs, milk, and vanilla.
Pour liquid mixture in with oat mixture & stir together gently.
Lightly coat an 8×8 pan with cooking spray, pour oatmeal into pan. Bake at 350 for 40-45 minutes (until oatmeal is firm). Serve warm.

This recipe makes 8 servings. I split mine up into 8 containers & reheated them as I needed. A few servings got frozen since I knew I wouldn’t make it through the whole dish in a few days.

I think this would also be delicious with some added dried cranberries or other fruits. I just need to watch what I’m adding so I don’t increase the points too much. :)

*Which, to be honest, is the oatmeal in the picture, though the one I made this time looked similar.

2 thoughts on “In The Kitchen: Baked Oatmeal

  1. I heart baked oatmeal. I’ve had it 2 weeks in a row now, though the second week Scott halved the recipe. It’s a lot of oatmeal!

Comments are closed.