In the Kitchen: Butterbeer Cupcakes

I am terrible at secrets. Truly. A while back, I found this recipe and really wanted a reason to try it out. In fact, it may have been the first new thing I pinned on Pinterest. As Selena was going to be in town visiting, I thought knit night would be a perfect time to test the recipe.  For whatever reason, I thought it would be fun to keep the kind of cupcakes a secret until I got to knitting. Except as the time to make them grew nearer, I got a little more excited and started telling people. At first, it was just a whisper to Rachel as we were getting ready to watch Deathly Hallows, Part 2. Then a mention of them to someone else. Then a couple twitter posts about cream soda and butterscotch ganache. Then, the train completely derailed and I enticed Kate to come to knitting the night before leaving for a vacation because, seriously, BUTTERBEER CUPCAKES.

Butterbeer Cupcakes

And you know what? They are delicious. Fairly sweet, but the butterscotch gives it an extra little punch of flavor. I had wished they had a bit more straight up butter flavor, but that may have been because I wanted a little something savory. The knitter’s consensus was that these are a winner of a recipe and if I could share their faces as people bit into them, I would.

I didn’t modify the recipe at all except to use a splash of buttermilk in the frosting when needed – I had it, it was going to waste, why not? I do, however, need to quit tasting cupcakes after I’ve made frosting and frosted them. I always wind up thinking the cupcakes are way sweeter than they are (and, thus, TOO SWEET) simply because I’ve overloaded my taste buds and have temporary super-taster abilities.

I definitely recommend these for your next party, whether it be a Harry Potter viewing party or just a fun evening potluck. Or if you’re feeling adventurous, try out the Golden Snitch Cake Pops that use the recipe. Then bring me one.

2 thoughts on “In the Kitchen: Butterbeer Cupcakes

Comments are closed.